Paid Sick Leave for All

In September 2014 Governor Brown signed into law AB 1522, the “Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014,” which will amend Labor Code section 2810.5 and require employers to provide paid sick days to all California employees.

Starting July 1, 2015, any employee who works in California for 30 or more days within a year will be entitled to no less than 24 hours or 3 days of paid sick leave.  Unused sick days will carry over (up to a maximum of 6 days).

There are limited exclusions.  Some employees covered by the Railway Labor Act and all in-home support service employees are excluded.  Employees covered by a valid collective bargaining agreement that meets certain base standards may be excluded.  Importantly, the terms of the law explicitly include public employers.

This law makes California the second state in the nation to require employers to provide paid sick leave to nearly all employees.

By Caren Sencer | October 1, 2014

Legal Developments